[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[afro-nets] 2012 Omololu Falobi Award Nominations: Deadline Extended to 19 Dec 2011!!

  • From: "Manju Chatani" <mchatani@gmail.com>
  • Date: Fri, 2 Dec 2011 11:33:26 -0500

2012 Omololu Falobi Award Nominations: Deadline Extended to 19 Dec 2011!!

Due to several requests, we have extended the deadline for Nominations for
Omololu Falobi Award for Excellence in HIV Prevention Research Community Advocacy 2012 to* 19 DECEMBER 2011*

Nomination forms available at: *www.avac.org/omololufalobi*

The Omololu Falobi Award highlights the essential role of community advocacy and leadership in HIV prevention research. It celebrates the life and values of the late Omololu Falobi, a long-time HIV advocate and journalist who founded Journalists Against AIDS in Nigeria, was an instrumental pioneer member of the Nigerian Treatment Access Movement, and co-founded the New HIV Vaccine & Microbicide Advocacy Society. Omololu was killed in Lagos, Nigeria in October 2006. The award was conceived as an ongoing legacy that recognizes his commitment and lasting contributions to HIV prevention research advocacy.

This award of achievement is intended to honor individuals who have shown leadership and commitment to HIV prevention research advocacy and to recognize the work of advocates who have inspired others in their commitment to HIV prevention. It celebrates the growing advocacy to bring more HIV prevention options to into the field. It recognizes the essential role that advocates play in working with researchers, policy-makers, civil society to ensure that we have new options that acceptable, ethically researched and that access to them is paramount in the development process.

Who is advocate for prevention that has inspired you? Who has helped bring awareness to your country? Who has moved others to want to create change? Who is a fiery champion for more options so people have choices in how to protect themselves? This is the time to honour them….

*Nominate someone today!!!*

Please see original announcement below for more information about the Award and nomination process

Questions: Write to omololufalobiaward@yahoo.com

Nomination forms available at: www.avac.org/omololufalobi


Manju Chatani

On behalf of the Award Organizing Committee

*Call for Nominations: Omololu Falobi Award for Excellence in HIV Prevention Research Community Advocacy 2012*


AMAG is pleased to join a number of partners to announce the call for nominations for the 2012 *Omololu Falobi Award for Excellence in HIV Prevention Research Community Advocacy*. This update includes information on the award and a link to the nomination form, due December 5, 2011.

Five years ago on October 5, 2006, we lost our brother and colleague Omololu Falobi. Those who knew Omololu will remember him—among many other things—as a talented journalist, an activist for social justice, an advocate for prevention research and a son of Africa who worked tirelessly to ensure Africans were taking ownership of their own HIV care and prevention. Omololu founded the Journalists Against AIDS in Nigeria (JAAIDS)<http://www.nigeria-aids.org/>, co-created the Nigeria-AIDS eForum, co-founded the New HIV Vaccine and Microbicide Advocacy Society (NHVMAS) <http://www.nhvmas-ng.org/>, was an instrumental pioneer member of the Treatment Access Movement (TAM) Nigeria, and a key leader of the African Civil Society Coalition on HIV and AIDS. He was tragically killed in 2006 in Lagos, Nigeria.

In 2008, in honor of Omololu’s memory and commitment to the field, *The Omololu Falobi Award for Excellence in HIV Prevention Research Community Advocacy* was established by the African Microbicides Advocacy Group (AMAG)<http://www.global-campaign.org/amag.htm> and partners. The Award is presented to a community advocate in recognition of his/her contribution to the HIV prevention research field through community advocacy. Individuals are nominated by their peers, and the winner is announced at the biennial International Microbicides Conferences. Lori Heise (USA) and Aylur Srikrishnan (India) were the 2008 recipients and Charles Shagi (Tanzania) the 2010 recipient.

In continuation of this tradition and to mark the fifth anniversary of Omololu’s death, AMAG is pleased to join partners to announce the call for nominations of the *2012 Omololu Falobi Award*.

*The Nomination and Selection Process*

- Nominations can be made by an individual or organization; self-nominations will NOT be accepted.
- Nomination forms are available at *www.avac.org/omololufalobi* (and attached to this message)

Nomination forms and recommendation letters should be sent to *omololufalobiaward@yahoo.com* by *Monday, 19 December 2011**.*

- Nominations will be reviewed by an Independent Review Panel (international panel made up of researchers, advocates and people living with HIV).
- The recipient will be informed before the 2012 International Microbicides Conference (M2012) <http://www.microbicides2012.org/> and recognized at the M2012 <http://www.microbicides2012.org/> closing ceremony in Sydney, Australia in April 2012.

For more information email *omololufalobiaward@yahoo.com*.

AMAG <http://www.global-campaign.org/amag.htm>, the African AIDS Vaccine Partnership (AAVP) <https://sites.google.com/a/aavpsecretariat.org/www/>, AVAC <http://www.avac.org/omololufalobi>, the Global Campaign for Microbicides (GCM) <http://www.global-campaign.org/>, the International Rectal Microbicides Advocates (IRMA) <http://www.rectalmicrobicides.org/>, JAAIDS <http://www.nigeria-aids.org/>, NHVMAS <http://www.nhvmas-ng.org/>, and Treatment Access Movement (TAM) Nigeria.

- 2012 OF award nomination form final.doc <http://dgroups.org/?krdkc2aj> - 586 KB, application/msword

Manju Chatani